Review: The Imitation Game

The short of it: ★★★★
A film that everybody should watch, even if it’s just for Cumberbatch’s acting alone.

There were three reasons i was ridiculously excited for this movie. The first was the history: as probably anyone who’s been about this blog for a bit will know, I’m so much of a history nerd it isn’t even funny. Alan Turing holds a special place in my obsession because I find him so under appreciated, and my heart goes out to under appreciated individuals. I really hoped that he would be represented well.

The second reason is that I’m a Cumberbatch fan. (The Cumber Collective, as they’re supposed to be known; the Cumberbitches, as they’re not supposed to be, but still are.) I’m not a very active member, to be fair; but a requirement of being on tumblr is giggling every time someone mentions Eggs Benedict, and it was with high hopes I went into the theatre with a ticket for The Imitation Game in my hand.

(The third reason is Matthew Goode, but more on that later.)

As a cynical pessimist I have learnt that life is full of disappointments, like losing 4-0 to MK Dons and learning that the Big Bang Theory has been renewed for more seasons. Thankfully, this was not one of them. It was everything I’d expected of it and even more. I’d definitely teared up more than once by the time the credits began to roll, and the whole thing was an emotional roller coaster propped up by the beautiful plot and even more beautiful acting.

Warning: spoilers ahead.

First, the requisite plotline recap. The film traces (in a haphazard, jumping-around manner) Alan Turing’s life, from his schoolboy days in 1928 to his arrest for homosexuality in 1951, but concentrating the most heavily on his involvement at Bletchley Park during the Second World War. Turing was of course famous for his involvement with Operation Ultra, where the undecipherable Enigma Code was, well, deciphered.

Can I just take a moment to mention that, well, moment? The point where the enigma code is finally cracked. When Turing’s machine does what he’s been telling everyone it will. When tensions, up to that point crackling with energy, where everything seems hopeless, suddenly gives way to hugs and cheers. I cried with relief, and I think that’s the mark of the film: it’s gotten you so involved with their journey that their relief feels like yours. You are happy for them, you are happy with them. It feels like you’ve won the world cup or you’ve saved a million people from burning buildings – which is essentially what they did. The direction of the moment – the music, the zooming in onto Turing’s face, cracking with emotion – sweeps you up completely. It’s ridiculously well done. Anyone who doesn’t feel even something at that moment probably is in reality made of metal and was sent here by aliens to conquer the world.

From micro to macro, and the direction as a whole was fantabulous. Of course there were certain obvious shots, like for an interrogation scene the table-length viewpoint, but the colours were really nicely put together. The one problem I had was the weird overlays of actual footage with the ticking machine, but it’s a very small annoyance of mine.

Of course, what’s a film without the acting? Benedict Cumberbatch, everybody. Benedict Cumberbatch. If ever there was a time you thought he couldn’t act, I beg you to go watch this movie. Just listen to his voice – the nuances, the pauses, even the words are so ridiculously crafted. It couldn’t have been more well done if it was an overcooked steak. And how he absolutely changes after the chemical castration; his shaking fingers, paler face, wide eyes. An absolute performance to die for, and I will be very disappointed if he doesn’t at least get nominated for an oscar, if not win it.

As a literature student, this movie was a feast for my read-too-deep tendencies. There are so many little things which are so significant, like the fact that he buys them all apples – surely the story of Alan Turing taking cyanide but leaving an apple by his bed you’ve heard of. Or the fact that, in the second last scene, he switches off the lights to the machine – symbolic of letting it go. All of these little ideas fit so perfectly into the narrative.

As a history student I was somewhat more disappointed; I didn’t like the allusion to him being a Soviet spy, although I understand the motivations for dramatic tension and all. But Turing was a real British patriot, highly unlikely to have ever been harbouring a Soviet Spy (which he did in the movie), much less be one. The slander in that sense was something I highly disliked. Other small historical inaccuracies include Hugh still being around the bonfire when he was transferred in 1944, though that’s just a quibble. I didn’t like either the skipping over so quickly of 1943-45, just done through numbers and voiceovers – although that might have been the intended effect.

But when it all comes down to it, what gets me the most about this movie is just the story. The real story behind it. The inherent importance of Turing’s work, of the work of the men and women behind the scenes; the highlighting of unsung heroes, not just the ones we are so used to seeing. When they crack Enigma you are not once left without the gravity of what they have just achieved. When they have to decide who lives and who dies. The very fact that the movie gets you talking and thinking after you leave, that’s the most powerful point. How this hero of Britain was chemically castrated for something that shouldn’t even be punished in the first place. How he was driven to suicide. How he didn’t get a pardon till sixty years later. Alan Turing is so important – without him, humanity would be at a loss – and I think it’s great that at least people are opening their eyes to that.

And if that’s not enough a reason to watch it, I present to you:

MATTHEW GOODE.

GOOD ENOUGH.

Published by

tookthat

Hello! My name is Rachel, Butt you can call me Rach (it doesn't really Mata). I'm 18, Singaporean, and am very difficult to keep in Cech when I stay Up All Night to watch football. The things that make me Happy Now are history (my first love, which I'll Never Forget), Take That (AND PARTY), and Manchester United (I'm Neville going to give that up). I also have the unfortunate habit of making questionable football puns and shoving song titles into my 'about me's, but I'll Do What I Like. I'm Keane on British things, movies, TV shows, books and music, so hit me up - although you'll have to have a little Patience because I never reply on time. Apart from me being socially awkward I'm quite a nice person really. Really.

Leave a comment